Search…

X3 Photo Gallery Support Forums

Search…

revorgneil
Topic Author

Some questions before i purchase

23 Nov 2020, 20:19

So firstly i am not a developer (in the traditional sense) - got into it while building a site for my study group .. so there may be a few non techie terminology issues to resolve :-)

First question is the $39 license fee perpetual or annual?

So i've up to now written all web pages in classic asp (bit of javascript) and integrated bigger jobs and tools (like forum) into the site, i've got image libraries and study boards that run on databases and for document, image folder browsing i use FSO but of course its very clunking and not as slick as this tool .. i love the simplicity in setup and use. 

I am thinking i have two requirements for this tool/app - this ticks the first as is and subject to confirming licensing model with committee i think its pretty much a done deal.. couple issues to date :

1) There are quite a few files and complete folders it doesn't like and at the moment i am not sure why, the folder structure is a none techie persons library of images and docs (word, excel mainly) with a very creative naming convention. I am assuming this will be down to characters or miss matched headers/extensions ?
2) The documents (word, excel) don't want to open online (pop up/new tab etc) instead they download - not sure if this is a local browser setting or a configurable in the app?

For my other requirement i'd like to replace my dowdy vba/FSO image browser interface and use yours - is it possible to introduce a 'selected' file feature that basically holds the path and name and a button that returns it to a window opener :
window.opener.document.getElementById("<%=returnField%>").value = thisFileRtn ?