Search…

X3 Photo Gallery Support Forums

Search…
 
User avatar
JMM
Experienced
Topic Author
Posts: 154
Joined: 02 Aug 2021, 11:18

How do I widen the width of page displayed in Settings|Content?

16 Apr 2023, 00:30

Hello, Karl.

I have looked at THIS document, which explains the 12-column Grid layouts that X3 uses, but it doesn't help me, except to indicate that column widths need to add up to 12.

On one of my pages which you can see HERE, the first 2 columns with the blue labels, I am happy with how they are displayed.

For that page, I have set the gallery layout as Justified, and gallery width as Wide.  However, it appears that maybe the Wide setting applies only to images, because the 4 columns with the grey labels display in the same location & screen width, regardless if I set the gallery width to Wide or Default.

The code for the columns that I am using is <div class='medium-3 columns'>. I tried <div class='large-3 columns'> also, but that didn't widen them :-).

For those 4 columns with the grey labels, I would like to (if possible) have those 4 columns spread across about twice the width that they take up now, as the physical width currently of each column is not wide enough.  Case in point is the 4th column with a grey label, where the single line wraps onto a 2nd line.

Lowering the width of the first 3 columns so that I could widen the width of the 4th column doesn't work, because then the first 3 columns end up being too narrow, with the items listed in those first 3 columns wrapping.

As an experiment, I have temporarily listed those 4 grey columns twice, separated by a horizontal line.

For the top 4 columns with the grey labels, I am using:
Code
<div class='medium-3 columns'>
<div class='medium-3 columns'>
<div class='medium-3 columns'>
<div class='medium-3 columns'>
...with the above medium-3 set for the 4th column like the others, the content in that 4th column wraps onto a 2nd line.

For the lower 4 columns for experimental-purposes with the grey labels, I am using:
Code
<div class='medium-3 columns'>
<div class='medium-3 columns'>
<div class='medium-3 columns'>
<div class='medium-6 columns'>
...which of course does not add up to 12, so that 4th column wraps down.  But it does show that I would somehow need to use a width of 6 for that 4th column in order to fit everything onto a single line.

Not knowing the capabilities of X3 nor all the different settings & tweaking that are possible, I have no idea if what I am trying to do is doable.

Maybe the first thing for me to do, is to somehow be able to widen the width of the content on this page, because setting the gallery width to Wide does not have any effect.  I can then experiment with the column widths of those 4 columns with the grey labels.

Any help with suggestion would, as always, be greatly appreciated.

Thank you in advance & have yourself a great day.

Regards,
John
Location: Burlington (Toronto-ish), Ontario, Canada
Self-hosted using Abyss Web Server:   AuroraWings.me   |   GalleryWings.com   |   PanAurora-Studio.com   |
Externally-hosted using LiteSpeed/Apache Web Server:   GenealogyWings.com/galleries   |
 
User avatar
mjau-mjau
X3 Wizard
Posts: 13995
Joined: 30 Sep 2006, 03:37

Re: How do I widen the width of page displayed in Settings|Content?

16 Apr 2023, 00:43

The simple answer to this question, is to go to page settings > context > width, and set "wide". By default, anything within context (including columns) will be limited within the "narrower" layout. Of course, when you choose "wide", everything in your content will be wide by default ... It will require some experience with html and grid layout if you then want to add the content inside at various different widths.
 
User avatar
JMM
Experienced
Topic Author
Posts: 154
Joined: 02 Aug 2021, 11:18

Re: How do I widen the width of page displayed in Settings|Content?

16 Apr 2023, 02:42

For Settings|Context|Width, I originally changed it from its default setting of Narrow to Wide, but that top picture was too huge, so I changed the width to Default, and I am very happy with the result, thank you  :slight_smile:.

As you mentioned, I had to experiment with the columns a little bit, and ended up inserting a dummy (blank) medium-1 column at the beginning of both the blue-label and grey-label sections, to shift those columns over to the right slightly.

Overall I'm extremely pleased with the results.  So far this is the only gallery that I have that I needed to do this for, but now I know how to do it in case I need something similar in the future.

Thanks again for your help, and enjoy the rest of you weekend.

Regards,
John
Location: Burlington (Toronto-ish), Ontario, Canada
Self-hosted using Abyss Web Server:   AuroraWings.me   |   GalleryWings.com   |   PanAurora-Studio.com   |
Externally-hosted using LiteSpeed/Apache Web Server:   GenealogyWings.com/galleries   |
 
User avatar
JMM
Experienced
Topic Author
Posts: 154
Joined: 02 Aug 2021, 11:18

Re: How do I widen the width of page displayed in Settings|Content?

16 Apr 2023, 02:47

I spoke too soon...

I do have 1 small problem remaining, and this problem has been there from the beginning, from when I first started a few hours ago to use that wizard to insert that top picture.

If you look at that page again HERE, notice the code in green that is above that top picture?

When I first insert that picture using that wizard, everything works correctly.  However, when I then add/change/delete anything in that gallery, the green code appears above that top picture.

I can easily fix the problem by deleting that code from that Content tab & then re-adding the picture using the wizard, but the next time that I add/change/delete any items from that gallery, that green code reappears above that top picture.

I checked my tags & even remove one of the closing </span> tags, but that didn't fix the problem.

The code that I have, inserted by the wizard is as follows (and as I did previously, below I have indented each item, to make it easier for you to see what I have... the indents are not actually on my site):

Code
<a href="{{path}}filename.jpg" data-popup-title=
   "
      <strong>
         <b>
            <span style="color:yellow" class="mycaption13">
               VP-407 Crew 4
                  <small>
                     (the Sledgehammers)
                  </small>
            </span>
         </b>

         <span class="mybreak">
            <span class="mycaption12">
                (circa 1985-1987)
            </span>
         </span>
      </strong>

      <small>
         Canadian Forces Base Comox, Vancouver Island, British Columbia, Canada
            <br>
         (front row, 3
            <span style="vertical-align:super;font-size:.5em">
               <b>
                  RD
               </b>
            </span>
         from left)
      </small>
   "

   data-popup>
      <img src=
         "{{path}}filename.jpg"
             class="x3-style-frame"
             alt="VP-407 Crew 4 (the Sledgehammers) (circa 1985-1987) "
       />
</a>
Again, I easily fix the problem by deleting that code from that Content tab & then re-adding the picture using the wizard, but the next time that I add/change/delete any items from that gallery, that green code reappears above that top picture.

Any thoughts on what might be causing the problem?

Thanks in advance.
Location: Burlington (Toronto-ish), Ontario, Canada
Self-hosted using Abyss Web Server:   AuroraWings.me   |   GalleryWings.com   |   PanAurora-Studio.com   |
Externally-hosted using LiteSpeed/Apache Web Server:   GenealogyWings.com/galleries   |
 
User avatar
mjau-mjau
X3 Wizard
Posts: 13995
Joined: 30 Sep 2006, 03:37

Re: How do I widen the width of page displayed in Settings|Content?

16 Apr 2023, 04:14

The problem is, you are using complex html in the caption, which is all good for the image in the gallery of course. But when adding it a custom image in your html with data-popup-title="" you end up with "quotes" inside the data-popup-title="...""...", which breaks the attribute. This kinda complex html is not very useful to add and include in an attribute ... If you must, you would need to escape the quotes the are inside data-popup-title="...", like data-popup-title="...style=&quot;color:yellow&quot; ...".

Attributes are not meant to contain this kinda data. If you need to use it like this, you need to escape the quotes inside.
 
User avatar
JMM
Experienced
Topic Author
Posts: 154
Joined: 02 Aug 2021, 11:18

Re: How do I widen the width of page displayed in Settings|Content?

16 Apr 2023, 06:56

Well, the &quot; trick didn't seem to work.  But that's OK, as it is only 4 galleries that I actually need to use them on.  So, I'm fine just using the basics for those galleries.

Thanks anyway for your time, and have a great evening.
Location: Burlington (Toronto-ish), Ontario, Canada
Self-hosted using Abyss Web Server:   AuroraWings.me   |   GalleryWings.com   |   PanAurora-Studio.com   |
Externally-hosted using LiteSpeed/Apache Web Server:   GenealogyWings.com/galleries   |