Search…

X3 Photo Gallery Support Forums

Search…

ulfklose
Experienced
Topic Author

EU Cookie Consent and new regulations

29 Dec 2019, 07:13

Did you already see those new cookie consent court decisions? I'm not a lawyer so I'm not sure if that's necessary at all for a photo website although we can use Google Analytics which is an unnecessary cookie.

https://www.ionos.de/digitalguide/websi ... ichtlinie/

I let this text translate via DeepL (https://www.deepl.com/translator), it's quite good. The text is too long to translate it in one piece with the free version of DeepL otherwise I would have done this for you. I haven't found a native English article with a similar content, but as I said, using DeepL I guess you'll understand what we are dealing with here. 

This WordPress plugin shows what I guess is necessary in the EU. Totally annoying but it's the law :-/.

https://de.borlabs.io/borlabs-cookie/

To summarize what I understood: the user has to be able to decide wether he wanted to allow tracking cookies or only allow mandatory cookies which are necessary for the website to work.

mjau-mjau
X3 Wizard

Re: EU Cookie Consent and new regulations

29 Dec 2019, 07:38

It's clear that the cookie law is to prevent companies from tracking non-anonymous user data, normally across websites, indirectly for commercial gain. X3 does not use cookies, except for the panel login, which is only used for login purposes (necessary for the website to function, and only affects the admin user anyway).

Are you using Google Analytics? If so, and if you are paranoid, then why not just enable the cookie plugin that requires the user to click OK to accept cookies?

ulfklose
Experienced
Topic Author

29 Dec 2019, 08:37

mjau-mjau wrote: Are you using Google Analytics? If so, and if you are paranoid, then why not just enable the cookie plugin that requires the user to click OK to accept cookies?