Search…

X3 Photo Gallery Support Forums

Search…
 
User avatar
swamphox
Experienced
Posts: 130
Joined: 29 Nov 2007, 12:05

Re: convert.php / Update from 0.11 -> 0.12

24 Nov 2015, 05:32

Mobile working now. I want to address the other issue you had referred to. I did nothing outside of the normal checking of boxes. Did the upgrade overwrite that issue?
 
User avatar
mjau-mjau
X3 Wizard
Topic Author
Posts: 11337
Joined: 30 Sep 2006, 07:37

Re: convert.php / Update from 0.11 -> 0.12

24 Nov 2015, 05:37

swamphox wrote:Mobile working now. I want to address the other issue you had referred to. I did nothing outside of the normal checking of boxes. Did the upgrade overwrite that issue?
The upgrade would not affect that. If it's working now anyway, it would be pointless to try to diagnose something that can't be diagnosed any longer.
 
User avatar
swamphox
Experienced
Posts: 130
Joined: 29 Nov 2007, 12:05

Re: convert.php / Update from 0.11 -> 0.12

24 Nov 2015, 05:41

[quote="mjau-mjau"][quote="swamphox"]delmarvadesigns.com[/quote]
Not sure what you see, but all images are loading perfectly here.
[img]https://d.pr/i/1drdr+[/img]

On a separate note, I see you have applied the "menu-absolute-*" body class to all/some of your pages? This is a special setting for the TOPBAR layout startpage, where you want the menu to OVERLAY the page. It is not meant for the sidebar, as you can see the sidebar overlays the content.[/quote]


This issue....Cmon, really? Of course if it is fixed. I didn't even know what you were talking about.
 
User avatar
mjau-mjau
X3 Wizard
Topic Author
Posts: 11337
Joined: 30 Sep 2006, 07:37

Re: convert.php / Update from 0.11 -> 0.12

24 Nov 2015, 05:44

I see you have enabled the "preload" option also, which could cause some issues. Perhaps you should go to settings->settings->preload, and disable it while testing? This is a cool feature, but it could cause problems while you are setting up the gallery. Click the (?) button to read about it ...
 
Eightkiller
Experienced
Posts: 112
Joined: 15 Jul 2012, 18:34

Re: convert.php / Update from 0.11 -> 0.12

01 Dec 2015, 12:10

Hy, I'm surely dumb but i don't get it.

I have my actual 0.11 beta version with old settings running
I put the convert.php in my root folder
Then it's not working cause :
Code
# Get X3 config
require_once "./app/x3.config.inc.php";
global $x3_config;
$x3_config = getX3Config();
This file does not exist on 0.11 version.
So what should i do ? Install a fresh version of 0.12 first ? Then copy my old content and settings from 0.11 inside the new 0.12 version then use the convert.php ?

Thanks for your help.
 
User avatar
mjau-mjau
X3 Wizard
Topic Author
Posts: 11337
Joined: 30 Sep 2006, 07:37

Re: convert.php / Update from 0.11 -> 0.12

01 Dec 2015, 15:43

Eightkill wrote:Hy, I'm surely dumb but i don't get it.
Sorry, its a bit clumsy, but its the only method ... Basically its just a page/settings converter, so you still need to upgrade BEFORE your run the convert ... Then run the convert.php to convert the pages and settings in your content folder.

I suggest you do this:

1. In your current version, delete all files/folders except your content/ folder (which contains your settings, pages and images).
2. Upgrade to latest version by uploading all latest files, except the content folder.
3. NOW you can run convert.php

4. Finally, you should delete content/services, content/sitemap, content/json, content/feed and content/custom
5. Upload the content/custom from the latest release (into content/custom)

You will still need to re-apply a few settings like login, logo, footer and perhaps some other settings.
 
User avatar
Martin
Experienced
Posts: 626
Joined: 31 Jan 2011, 04:24

Re: convert.php / Update from 0.11 -> 0.12

01 Dec 2015, 16:26

mjau-mjau wrote:4. Finally, you should delete content/services, content/sitemap, content/json, content/feed and content/custom
5. Upload the content/custom from the latest release (into content/custom)
I didn't know that content/services, content/sitemap, content/json, content/feed have become obsolete en can be deleted.

And have these become obsolete too?:
content/custom/css
content/custom/footer
content/custom/head
content/custom/header
content/custom/javascript
content/custom/mail
content/custom/widget.contact

FOUND IT:
I think the answer is YES, because all their info is now stored in config/config.user.json
ImageImage
 
User avatar
mjau-mjau
X3 Wizard
Topic Author
Posts: 11337
Joined: 30 Sep 2006, 07:37

Re: convert.php / Update from 0.11 -> 0.12

01 Dec 2015, 17:06

Martin wrote:FOUND IT:
I think the answer is YES, because all their info is now stored in config/config.user.json
Exactly.
Martin wrote:I didn't know that content/services, content/sitemap, content/json, content/feed have become obsolete en can be deleted.
... and these folders have become virtual routes in new X3, so no need to maintain folder placeholders for them any more since they were never supposed to be edited anyway.
 
User avatar
Martin
Experienced
Posts: 626
Joined: 31 Jan 2011, 04:24

Re: convert.php / Update from 0.11 -> 0.12

01 Dec 2015, 19:44

It's getting quite elegant this way.

Another question... just checking if the following is correct. The names of the .json files in the four folders of the zip-file 'X3 Beta v0.12.15.zip\x3\content\custom' are a bit peculiar:
  • folder 404 has page.json
  • folder audio has 404.json
  • folder favicon has 404.json
  • folder logo has 404.json
ImageImage
 
User avatar
mjau-mjau
X3 Wizard
Topic Author
Posts: 11337
Joined: 30 Sep 2006, 07:37

Re: convert.php / Update from 0.11 -> 0.12

01 Dec 2015, 20:17

Martin wrote:
  • folder 404 has page.json
  • folder audio has 404.json
  • folder favicon has 404.json
  • folder logo has 404.json
This is part of the system logic and how pages work, but I can understand that looked strange for an outsider.

Audio, favicon and logo with "404.json" are not actual pages, but content containers, thus they should create a "404 page not found" response if accessed directly. The 404 folder however, is an actual page with content, settings and data stored in page.json. The funny thing is that all 404 responses are actually routed to this page, but the output of this page is in fact created as a normal page.
 
User avatar
Martin
Experienced
Posts: 626
Joined: 31 Jan 2011, 04:24

Re: convert.php / Update from 0.11 -> 0.12

01 Dec 2015, 21:16

mjau-mjau wrote: Audio, favicon and logo with "404.json" are not actual pages, but content containers, thus they should create a "404 page not found" response if accessed directly. The 404 folder however, is an actual page with content, settings and data stored in page.json.
Sound logical... now :-)
ImageImage
 
Eightkiller
Experienced
Posts: 112
Joined: 15 Jul 2012, 18:34

Re: convert.php / Update from 0.11 -> 0.12

02 Dec 2015, 08:32

Hy,

The managing of the logo seems to have changed. The recommandation of "get a logo about twice the size than the one u want", seems to be broken. The logo appears smaller on 0.12 with the same settings. Even by modifying the width in the CSS, it's still the same so i guess i have to recreate a bigger one in order to have the same size as before ?

Thanks in advance.
 
User avatar
mjau-mjau
X3 Wizard
Topic Author
Posts: 11337
Joined: 30 Sep 2006, 07:37

Re: convert.php / Update from 0.11 -> 0.12

02 Dec 2015, 09:37

Eightkill wrote:The managing of the logo seems to have changed. The recommandation of "get a logo about twice the size than the one u want", seems to be broken. The logo appears smaller on 0.12 with the same settings. Even by modifying the width in the CSS, it's still the same so i guess i have to recreate a bigger one in order to have the same size as before ?
The recommendation of making the logo approximately twice as large as it is displaying is a recommendation regardless of how the logo is actually displaying, so I am not sure how that can be broken.

Things did change in latest release, which may affect a logo including default settings. However, modifying the CSS below the logo settings will work unless there is some bug I am unaware. It won't help "making the logo bigger" if the issue for you is that it does not respond to changes in the CSS.

If I had a link to your website, I could see what is happening, and if I had login to your panel, I could even diagnose it properly.
 
User avatar
Martin
Experienced
Posts: 626
Joined: 31 Jan 2011, 04:24

Re: convert.php / Update from 0.11 -> 0.12

02 Dec 2015, 10:16

I was under the same impression that the logo is now smaller.
Here are two screenprints of the most recent version, but in one the dimensions of the logo in the css are 320 and in the other 640.
The logo itself is 640 in width.

Clearly can be seen that the smaller logo is much smaller than half of te bigger one...
The bigger one is indeed 640 px wide on the screen.

Image
Image

In the third screenprint I added the logo as it should have been at width 320:
Image
ImageImage
 
User avatar
mjau-mjau
X3 Wizard
Topic Author
Posts: 11337
Joined: 30 Sep 2006, 07:37

Re: convert.php / Update from 0.11 -> 0.12

02 Dec 2015, 10:36

Martin wrote:I was under the same impression that the logo is now smaller.
To be honest, I am not quite sure what we are discussing ... Sure, there can be minor changes as to what was before and what is now, because I need to adjust defaults based on what I feel is a good average for a NEW X3 installation. Furthermore, I can't anticipate what your logo will look like, and what layout you are using ... A logo could be tall or short, narrow or fat.

As for if a logo is exactly displaying at 320 or not, that is a relative question, likely because there is also necessary PADDING included.
Image

Thus, if you do indeed want your logo bigger, just increase the "width" setting in CSS, until your logo is as big as you want it to display.
Image

The factor of "creating your logo twice as big as it is displaying" is just an approximation so that it looks nice on retina devices. It does not matter if it is 1.8x or 1.7234x or 2.2x of actual display size, as that is good enough. If I didn't write this recommendation, and average user would think in pure pixels and create the logo as big as it is displaying.

I can see there is an imperfection here that the logo without padding is not actually displaying at the width you set it to in CSS, but this should not be a general obstacle as the CSS is generally available as a tool to adjust settings.